An overview of the award categories

In close cooperation with science, award winners and the Health Media Award e.V. a binding Value Code was formulated when creating the award categories. These ethical principles and guidelines underpin the seriousness of the competition. They were reviewed in advance by a board of trustees and published. The aim was to focus on a small number of categories and topics in the award competition.

Award Categories „Classic“

Category “B2C Campaign”, international & national
Exceptional holistic communication campaigns for companies/products from the healthcare sector (focus: communication mix).

Category “B2B Campaign”, national
Outstanding communication campaigns for companies/products from the healthcare sector (focus: target group focus).

Category “Classic Advertising
Awards are given for advertising campaigns (ads, posters, brochures, TV spots, radio, PoS).

Award categories “Innovative”

Category „Best Branding“
Honors, for example, outstanding corporate projects or packaging in healthcare communication.

Category „Communication 4.0“
Honors innovative communication concepts as well as new communication methods (social media campaigns and initiatives, YouTubing, podcasts & content marketing).

Category „Digital Health“ (Innovation Award)
Honors companies that have developed apps, voice assistants & software, virtual reality & AIs or similar to improve processes in healthcare communication.

Award Categories “Specials”

The COVID-19 pandemic shaped the Special categories until the end of 2022: Whether McDonalds, collaboration at EDEKA, #stayathome campaigns, vaccination campaigns or private good deeds: Many things have been, indeed should still be, honored. Perhaps also a new medicine, a dancing hospital, a campaign or a vaccination with communication reference? Since 2022, the competition has also addressed current issues such as the Ukraine war, natural disasters, politics, education, sustainability or climate change and their impact on global health communication.

Special category "Social commitment" (also celebrity award)
Honors non-profit organizations or private individuals for social commitment in the field of healthcare or/and honors a socially oriented non-profit campaign in the field of healthcare/prevention (education, equality).

Special Category “Support Project” (Student Award)
Honors student projects in the field of healthcare (grant money).

Special Category “Life‘s work”
Honors many years of commitment in the field of health promotion and communication.

Special Category “Art”
Awards national and international art projects related to a current social issue or a special achievement (e.g. during the pandemic).

Special category "IGO (Intergovernmental Organization)
Recognizes exclusively intergovernmental organizations with a cross-national commitment to health communication.

Special Category “NGO” (non-governmental organization)
Exclusively distinguishes non-governmental organizations (NGOs) or also non-governmental organizations. These can also be interest groups (e.g. foundations) that have come about through civil society, are not legitimized by a public mandate and are committed to health communication on a national or international level.

Special category "Investigative Journalism"
In addition to lengthy, accurate and comprehensive research prior to publication as a prerequisite, documentaries or topics that are perceived as scandalous by the public are the focus. Reportages with reference to important, social topics (e.g. climate, human right health, peace, protest, flight) are to be supplemented by facts and own impressions.

Scroll to Top